Development Committee, Annual Report, June 2000 American Society of Mammalogists

The responsibility of the committee is to promote the development of the Society through various forms of planned giving such as bequests, trusts, and gifts of cash or other assets. Coordination is required with other committees and informal groups that have related functions.

One member (McIntyre) coordinates the annual auction and related social functions. Grants for use of the Program Committee have been obtained in recent years from Sea World, Inc. (through the efforts of Odell).

At present our Reserve Funds are about \$2,000,000, about15% of this or \$300,000 is in the Future Mammalogists Fund, and 1% or\$20,000 is in the Latin American Field Research Fund. Initial endowment funds for the new ASM Fellowship and funds for the Program Committee are also included. Exact current amounts have not been calculated by our committee.

These funds have been acquired over a period of years by donations, special events, and capital gains on investments. We need \$400,000 to OguaranteeO (at a 5% yield) the \$20,000 per year that the Board has budgeted for the Future Mammalogists Fund recently. The Latin American Field Research Fund now has the \$20,000 needed to provide the \$1,000. budgeted. There are additional good proposals that could be funded if endowment funds can be obtained. The 2000 budget included \$6,000 for the new ASM Fellowship but the program has not been initiated yet. We need \$120,000. to yield \$6,000 per year or \$400,000 to yield \$20,000.

We activated the Pooled-Income Fund in 1998. As of March 2000, approximately \$40,000 is in the trust fund (in an account with Morgan Stanley Dean Witter in Albuquerque).

Copies of an information leaflet and information sheets about various options for planned giving are available for distribution by the Secretary-TreasurerOs office. The Information Retrieval Committee has also posted information on planned giving on the ASM Web Site.

<u>Action Items</u> Appointment of one Pooled-Income Fund Trustees.

Members of the Development Committee are Sydney Anderson (chair), Robert J. Baker, Elmer Birney, Jerry Choate, Hugh Genoways, Sarah George, Thomas McIntyre, Daniel K. Odell, David Schmidly, H. Duane Smith (Secretary-Treasurer, ex officio), Barbara R. Stein, B. J. Verts, Michael R. Willig, Terry L. Yates, and Don E. Wilson. 10 April 2000